"premium Time" Confusing As A New Player

28 replies to this topic

#1 Gharet

Rookie

• Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 4 posts

Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:02 AM

I just started playing MWO a couple of days ago. I saw some vague references to the "Premium Account", but couldn't find any information on it. When i finished installing and launching the client, I saw the "Premium Account" label on the bottom of the client, with an "Add Time" button next to it that I COULDN'T CLICK.

So as a brand new player, a couple of things went through my mind:

1. Maybe I can find out what the premium account is and purchase it from my account page on the web. - Nope. Couldn't find what I was looking for
2. I can't click the Add Time button, so maybe the feature isn't supported
3. I see people talking about premium accounts, so they must be active. Since i can't click it and it says "Premium Account", I must have been given a free premium account for a day or two as a new user to try it out. Cool! Bonus XP!

The next day, I finally discovered the "player stats" tab of the match end screen (yea, it took me a while.. lol :D I noticed that it said "With a Premium Account you could have earned:"

This really confused me now. Clearly I wasn't a premium account, but why couldn't I add time?

Fortunately a bit later I decided to buy a 'Mech with MC, and get a larger package than was needed. It was then, by ACCIDENT mind you, that I discovered I could now add time, and then it added a number of days next to premium account.

As a new player, I would have purchased premium account time a full day earlier (on my first day of play), if I'd been able to figure out at all how to activate it. I have a few suggestions that would help out a lot, and I think any of these would have made it more clear for me