10 replies to this topic

#1 Not A Real RAbbi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 1,688 posts
  • LocationDeath to Aladeen Cafe

Posted 24 November 2013 - 12:51 PM

Total newblet mechwarriors of the Inner Sphere, we've got to have a little chat about HEAT.

As was pointed out in another thread about weapons, HEAT is bad and you need to know all about it.

First, the basics.

Heat in a battlemech is generated in a few ways. Your mech's fusion engine produces heat in the process of generating the electrical power needed to operate all of the mech's systems. That's an almost negligible amount. The power plant ALSO produces heat when its power is used to move the various myomer actuators that make your battlemech move. And more importantly, most weapon systems on your mech create heat when they're fired.

SYSTEMS: The overall load for operating your mech's sensors, life support, and so on, is very low. This doesn't really warrant any further discussion, as any healthy battlemech will deal with that heat VERY easily.

MOVEMENT: Depending on how you're moving your mech, a certain amount of heat will be generated above and beyond the above SYSTEMS heat. At a walk (up to about 60% of your maximum movement speed, which includes forward and backward movement) you'll generate a small, manageable amount of heat. At a run (beyond 60% or so of maximum forward movement speed), that amount increases up to double the walking rate. Movement by Jump Jets also creates a significant amount of heat. Once a healthy battlemech comes to rest, this heat should dissipate fairly quickly.