Battle Academy Online: The Ultimate Mech And Strategy Guide!

25 replies to this topic

#21 990Dreams

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 2,908 posts
  • LocationHotlanta

Posted 07 March 2014 - 09:20 AM

Tactical Advice: Dual AC/20 Jagers

These are a hot topic of debate. As a pilot myself I will be the first to say these Mechs are really freaking powerful (see the pic below). But not all hope is lost! Jagerbombs are not as tough as you may think.

Example Jagerbomb JM6-DD

Pretty formidable build right? Well, besides using an AC/40 to fight an AC/40 there are other options. Let's analyze this build and find some flaws.

1) It has an XL engine but doesn't move faster than 90 KpH
This makes the Mech automatically easier to kill. The shoulders have less maximum armor than the center torso making the Mech vulnerable.

2) The shoulders have more armor on the front
This means direct attacks are harder. But hitting him in the back is a different story.

3) It has heat problems
This means that if you're smart you can trick him into overheating himself.

4) It only moves at 64.8 KpH
This makes it especially vulnerable to fast moving Mechs (86+ KpH)

5) It has a maximum range of 810m (270m x 3)
This may sound bad, but it actually cannot do major damage unless it is within 400m.

So there are five key flaws to exploit. Depending on the situation there could be vastly more. But you absolutely have to think when engaging these things. Otherwise you're as good as scrap metal.

Pics of my second best match ever (I think)
Spoiler

Wanna know how I got that much done (I hadn't gotten the armor upgrade I have yet)? These guys didn't know how to combat me (a poptart just letting me blaze away at him, some lights that didn't bother to keep moving, LRM boats trying to brawl, etc.)

Edited by DavidHurricane, 21 March 2014 - 09:31 AM.

#22 luxebo

• The 1 Percent
  • 2,342 posts

Posted 07 March 2014 - 04:18 PM