Help! Games Running Less Than 20Fps Anymore!

17 replies to this topic

#1 Bigg Robb

• PipPipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 05:00 PM

Need some troubleshooting help, please. This is my laptop:

HP dv7t Quad Ed
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
3rd generation Intel® Core™ i7-3720QM Processor (2.6 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M Graphics with 1GB GDDR3 memory [HDMI, VGA]
12GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
750GB 5400RPM Hybrid Hard Drive
17.3-inch diagonal High Definition BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900

This game used to run pretty good when I started playing last summer. Most of the time my system ran about 50 fps. But lately my notebook runs really hot when I play and there have been a few thermal shutdowns. My video settings are on low across the board and some Maps run better than others but my normal fps on those is about 22-25. When I play Frozen City (the worst) it drops to 15-16 fps and mostly becomes an exercise in me getting killed a lot. Sniper accuracy is impossible, etc.

I opened a ticket as it didn't seem my system was the issue, and that ticket has been back and forth for about 3 weeks (messages are about 1 day turnaround, so it takes 2 days just to exchange a simple question and answer). They've had me send in logs, delete files, re-download maps, and completely re-install. It did work better for a few days after a fresh install but then slid back into crap. I've given up on PGI tech support.

Does anyone have any insight? Thanx in advance. I'm trying not to go back to CoD but I'm sick of being frustrated and getting killed because the stutter is so bad I can't tell what's where and I know I'm a better player.

#2 ball0fire

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Fire
  • Fire
  • 178 posts
  • LocationQLD australia

Posted 26 March 2014 - 05:25 PM

not to rain on yah parade but its funny

every person that has issues has either a laptop or a a 5+ year old office computer

anyhoo having said that, cpu power dude