29 replies to this topic

#21 ShinVector

Liao Mercenary

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Hammer
  • The Hammer
  • 3,711 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 08:53 AM

So some good news.. Apparently PGI confirmed this weapon convergence bug and is trying to fix it as soon as possible.

#22 Darth Futuza

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,239 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 09:22 AM

View PostMad Porthos, on 07 April 2014 - 06:42 PM, said:

Cool story bro, as a mostly Jenner pilot I appreciated the retelling of it.

#23 Osric Lancaster

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 447 posts

Posted 10 April 2014 - 09:38 AM

View PostMad Porthos, on 08 April 2014 - 05:50 PM, said:

Here is what I mean. HSR as is being mentioned above, may end up meaning that while I am properly pointing at a mech and I shoot and think I hit it, based on what I see, even though that mech may have a much lower ping than I and on his end think he's safe, around a corner, or 50 meters further along from where I'm aiming... I will hit him, if the SERVER agrees that I really was pointing at him, at the right "relative" point in time. The thing is, what trajectory my ACTUAL aim and shot follows is very often determined by convergence on the point under the reticule, and if HSR is actively trying to figure out if I hit or not, and my aim point is on target, then off target, then on target again... at the instant that it's "rewinding" to check and see if the trajectory would properly intersect, my reticule might have very briefly been off target. So in it's calculations, it's a miss. Yet it's already happened. I saw the shot, it seemed to hit. Where's the flash? Where's the damage confirmed on the paper doll? Nada. Cause of convergence's dicey instant nature, interacting with HSR likely.