- - - - -

Very First Hero Mech- Recommendations

38 replies to this topic

#1 Azkeel

Rookie

• 5 posts

Posted 13 April 2014 - 08:37 AM

I'm pretty new to MWO, I've been playing for around a week and loving it so far. I managed to grind all basic skills on my Shadow Hawks and now I'm working on elites. I'm also trying different builds to find one that suits me the most.

I'm going to buy MC's tomorrow and purchase some mech bays while they are on sale. I'm tempted to buy my first hero mech as well, especially since so many of them are 50% off. The question is: which one ?

I'm looking for a good money maker that would help new player like me to get decent c-bills to buy new mechs and equipment. Something that would be competitive and not-so-hard to master.
I only played 3 variants of Shadow Hawks and current trial mechs so far. I don't like LRM missile boats, but other than that, I'm open to your suggestions.

Which hero mech would you recommend for a newbie ? Would any of those discounted mechs suit my needs ?

Thanks in advance ;)

Edited by Azkeel, 13 April 2014 - 08:38 AM.

#2 EgoSlayer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Wrath
  • Wrath
  • 1,909 posts
  • Location[REDACTED]

Posted 13 April 2014 - 08:44 AM

Most will say the Ilya Muromets is the best overall hero, it goes on sale the 20th. The Muromets is a solid platform and one of the best heavies in the game. In addition, the Cataphract chassis has other good variants so it makes for a good platform to master.

The Heavy Metal is also mostly well regarded that goes on sale today (13th).
Here are a couple good links about overall mech ratings, including the Heros (last update Nov 2013):
http://mwomercs.com/...mech-tier-list/

And this one (last update - Sept 2013)
http://mwomercs.com/...w-of-all-mechs/