Mobile Snipers

24 replies to this topic

#1 opcow

• Pip
  • Philanthropist
  • Philanthropist
  • 18 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 08:23 AM

So, I've been grinding my way through the centurion chassis (Elite now, w00t) and I've been working on the CN9-D and I've found the loadout that works most consistantly for me is dual AC/2 and the torso mLas and a bunch of SRM. I've been running around, poking away in the early game, then taking pot shots in between hitting and fading when the battle is joined.

When it comes time to move onto another chassis I was looking at the Blackjack (so I have a jump on that master slot). Or the Catapult (so I have some boating options as I grind as well). I know that the Spider, Raven, and Jagermech can fulfill the sniper roles as well. In addition, I think I'm going to replace my CN9-AL's ERLL with a PPC while I finish out that grind.

So does any one have any input for an aspiring mobile sniper? Anything I'm missing? Any preferences?

#2 Garegaupa

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 208 posts

Posted 18 April 2014 - 08:42 AM

From the 'Mechs you mention I only have experience with the Jagermech and the Catapult. Both of these have the potential to be a decent sniper chassis. Also, both can mount their sniper weapons very high on the chassis, making sniping from behind partial cover much easier than with a 'Mech such as the Cataphract.

The CPLT-K2 can mount both ballistics like gauss rifles and energy weapons like PPCs for good sniping possibilities (you can even put in two gauss rifles to make the (in)famous Gausscat). The Catapult chassis is very XL engine friendly, so you can put a big XL engine in there for great mobility. The CPLT-K2 is the only Catapult without jump jets, however, so if those are important to you it would probably be better to choose another Catapult model. The Jester makes a decent PPC sniper, in my opinion.