32 replies to this topic

#1 Anvil ZA

• PipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 21 posts
  • LocationDurban, South Africa

Posted 18 April 2014 - 01:55 PM

Hi all. I don't know what classifies as a new player, but I'm new to heavies and in particular catapults. I have a K2 and recently bought a Jester during the sale as my first hero. My problem is, no matter how hard I try, and no matter how I play it, I just can't get any decent damage or score at all. I'll try give some info on what I have tried:

The K2 is okay but nothing spectacular. I run twin LBX and 4 ML, which is surprisingly vicious up close, but I find it just doesn't have the staying power of some other mechs. The Jester however, seems to be made of cardboard (to me anyway), even though I have it up to 400 armor and it's setup the same as the K2. I'm running twin PPC and 4 ML, which seems to be a pretty common build. My issue is that I get minced before I can do any good.

Which is point number 2. All my mechs so far have been assaults (Victor, Atlas, Stalker), and I do pretty well with them. I actually enjoyed mastering them all, but the pult just feels like grinding. I also don't have just 1 particular playstyle. STK is for support, Vic is for flanking and medium punishing, and Atlas is for brawling in the middle of big fights.

So how can I improve my skills with the Catapults? What play-style should I look at using? Attack or support? Maybe a different loadout?

Thanks in advance as always!
Anvil

#2 Amsro

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 3,380 posts
  • LocationCharging my Gauss Rifle

Posted 18 April 2014 - 02:04 PM

For the Jester I use its speed to dictate my engagement range. As well I use 4 Large Lasers to give me more distance again from my target.