Which Medium To Chose?

58 replies to this topic

#1 Morgis

Rookie

• 1 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 07:55 AM

I loved the Griffen, Shadow Hawk and Wolverine since I started playing the table top many years ago. Which one should I run in MWO??? What are the strengths and weaknesses of these models?

#2 DarthPeanut

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • 861 posts

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:00 AM

I personally love the Shadow Hawks when it comes to mediums. They are my go to mechs.

Good hit boxes, XL friendly, jump jets, can run almost any load out well, and has 5 variants in game currently.

Edited by DarthPeanut, 11 July 2014 - 08:01 AM.

#3 Barkem Squirrel

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Bowman
  • The Bowman
  • 1,082 posts
  • LocationEarth.

Posted 11 July 2014 - 08:16 AM

Griffin is a good LRM boat. Also for SRM's. with the Elites done you can run and fire 180+ degrees behind you. Also has JJ's. You have enough energy hard points to cause some concern with just energy load outs. May be the best Medium LRM boat out there when looking at speed number of missile tubes and ammo. The most kills in a mech for me is in the 1N with LRMs.

Shadow Hawk hard to beat. Where to start, dakka, LRMs, SSRM's, SRM's. Not as many energy hard points, but with everything else, you do not need them. You can through a 360 into the thing have SSRMS and chase down lights, especially clan lights. Run with LRMs and cause people nightmares. Then the AC's, through an AC 20 on the thing, JJ's and ML's and have fun. There are many ways to play this chassis.

Wolverine, tough bugger. You have less balistic hard points, but a good number of Missile points. Energy points are good, except for one. It has one in the head. Someone may pass you up for shooting at another target in this mech. then the one with is it 4 or 5 energy hard points in one arm. I think one does not have JJ's. With two of the variants you can also fire 180+ behind you.