- - - - -

First Mech.. Thinking Of Jager

74 replies to this topic

#1 Jamjor

• PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 16 August 2014 - 12:40 PM

I am debating my first Mech purchase. I am not a complete novice, as I have played MechWarrior in the past and I understand the concept.

I have played about 30 matches so far, and so far I am leaning towards something with long range capabilities, as well as decent mid range. I was thinking of the Jagermech DD with ac/10s or something of the like.

Can anyone recommend a loadout, or a more suitable mech? I've heard medium mechs aren't the greatest currently.

#2 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:25 PM

Medium mechs are fine, but if you're going Jagermech, get the JM6-S first. It can mount up to 4 ballistics, and really there's no practical way to mount more*, and it offers 4 energy hardpoints instead of just 2. It's otherwise the same.

* Yes, you can technically mount 5 or even 6 AC/2's, but ghost heat ruins that as an effective build. Otherwise, the only option is to cram in a bunch of machine guns, which is amusing but a waste of a Jagermech.

The S, then, still allows all the same builds you're going to want to run on a DD, but also opens more options (like running 4 ML's alongside ballistics, etc)

#3 Jamjor

• PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:37 PM

Do Jagers have decent speed?

If I choose the S, then I can have what I suggested? Long range with some mid range?

#4 Keira RAVEN McKenna

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 878 posts
  • LocationAuckland ...but summer has gone and the tears now flow

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:39 PM

Another option is a Raven 3L with 2 ERLL ECM and work on maxing it out. Its fast, ninja, has a good hit from a long way and once you get Adv Zoom and Radar Dep its REALLY fun!