Moving From Medium To Assault

15 replies to this topic

#1 Arnold J Rimmer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Civil Servant
  • Civil Servant
  • 892 posts

Posted 13 September 2014 - 07:24 AM

Now, I'm hardly what you could call a new player, but I figured this would be relevant to anyone facing a similar situation. That, and as I have all of three matches under my belt in an Assault mech, my Elo in that class is equivalent to that of a raw newbie anyway. Mods, feel free to move this if you think it belongs better in Guides than here.

My problem is this: I am a long-time die-hard Medium pilot. Just for fun, I dropped in a Highlander (specifically, the champion) and proceeded to do the square root of naff all. I have yet to break 200 damage (three times that much is my average for a good match in any given Med) and I struggle to position myself well. It's a decent build on paper, and the armour is reasonably well-placed. So it must be what I'm (not) doing.

Any tips for an old dog like me, trying to learn new tricks?

#2 Redshift2k5

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • Stone Cold
  • 11,975 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland

Posted 13 September 2014 - 07:39 AM

Assault mechs with no skills unlocked are going to be pretty clumsy and unresponsive, combined with a lack of experience and you get the idea. Same thing happens when assault players get in a Medium for the first time (although then they tend to fail because the mech has only half as much armor as they used to)

Best advice I can give is to stick with it :) Highlander champ is not exactly a killer build, either. Do you plan to buy one?

Edited by Redshift2k5, 13 September 2014 - 07:40 AM.

#3 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 13 September 2014 - 07:40 AM