- - - - -

Back After A Year Break

21 replies to this topic

#1 Sara Stampede

Rookie

• 4 posts
  • LocationDetroit, MI

Posted 17 September 2014 - 07:13 AM

There are probably a million threads like this already, but I figured another wouldn't hurt. The community here is so cool, I feel very safe posting an "I'm a returning newbie who hasn't played in over a year, what do I need to know?" thread.

So. I'm a returning newbie who hasn't played in over a year. What do I need to know?

A bit of background: I come from a pretty rich background in tabletop BattleTech, so I'm very well versed in the actual mechs, their various builds, strengths, weaknesses, etc. Luckily, this game is so faithful to the source material that all of that knowledge translates almost DIRECTLY to useful game knowledge.

I played pretty steadily for a few months about a year ago, but due to life circumstances, I had to take an extended break, and never picked the game back up afterward. I only own 2 mechs - a CPLT-C4 Catapult (which I ~LOVE~) and my "Rifleman", the Firebrand Jagermech.

I'm rejoining the game now, and loving it just as much as I was before. There's definite things I need to relearn, but a lot of it is like riding a bike. What I'm really more concerned about is the meta-game... What is the easiest role for a newbie to fall into with relatively little experience? What should my next mech purchase be? is it worth it to focus on one particular chassis, buying the variants and leveling up the skills on each, or should I branch out a bit and have a different mech for various situations? Are there any useful resources I should review (videos or written guides) that are popular for learning the parts of this game that aren't taught in the tutorial?

Thanks in advance for your help, everyone! Good hunting! o7

#2 MadTulip

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 262 posts

Posted 17 September 2014 - 07:21 AM

glhf ! :)

#3 Agelmar

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 264 posts