Super Long Ranges And How To Build For Them

8 replies to this topic

#1 namlooc

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 September 2014 - 10:37 PM

im really new to the game and have always preferred long range fighting instead of cqc. i was wondering what you guys would suggest for a super heavy sniper like mech setup and weapons.

i was thinking going with an assault with a crap ton of rail guns fired with an alpha strike

#2 The Trumpet of Gabriel

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 193 posts
  • LocationIndiana

Posted 19 September 2014 - 07:48 AM

Well, first of all, the only "rail gun" in the game is the gauss rifle. The IS mechs that can cary more than 1 are the Jagermechs, and the Cataphract IM and Cataphract 3D. The Clan mechs that can mount more than 1 that I know of are the Timberwolf and Direwolf. It is possible to mount 3 or 4 on a couple mechs, but you can't fire more than 2 at a time. There is also a charging mechanic to get used to.

That said, I would suggest the following for a sniper if you are set on using gauss rifles as your primary weapon:

Jagermech (any variant) : Dual gauss
Cataphract IM or 3D: Dual gauss (this is less desirable because of the low slung arms)
Direwolf: Dual gauss, ERPPC/ERLL (slow as a beached whale)
Shadow Hawk: Single gauss in the left shoulder w/ backup weapons

The main characteristic you will want to look for in a sniper mech will be high mounted hard points so you can just peek over a hill and still fire. If you stand out in the open in this game and try to snipe, you will be dead very quickly.

Other good sniping weapons include the ac/uac 5, ac2(not too effective because of heat to damage ratio), ERLL, CERLL, PPC/ERPPC (will take some practice to hit with because of the projectile speed).