Best Sphere Chassis For Fire Support?

18 replies to this topic

#1 UrsusMorologus

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Daddy
  • 616 posts

Posted 27 September 2014 - 09:16 AM

I'm looking for an IS chassis that I can use for near-line fire-support. Jager seems very flexible, can do high-alpha builds, snipers, even a LRM boat. Cataphract also seems good, and Catapult has a couple of good options (but not many). Looking for opinions and experience. Thanks

#2 Reignfire

• Pip
  • Fire
  • Fire
  • 16 posts

Posted 27 September 2014 - 09:20 AM

Jager. Its hard to use but its one of the best fire support IS.That being said i know they are nasty but die quick. I am an Orion pilot my self. Orion is a mini atlas. . Cataphract is mean but hard to use and the 3D is the best one. Thuds i love but most people do not. That being said the thud is pretty bad ass and reasonably xl safe.Catapults do not see much action these days but they are nasty. Best heavy LRM boat imo.

Edited by Reignfire, 27 September 2014 - 09:27 AM.

#3 Voivode

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Hungry
  • The Hungry
  • 1,465 posts

Posted 27 September 2014 - 09:26 AM

These are all heavies, and are good choices as far as fire support heavies for the IS.

If you're looking for fire support for other classes I can suggest these mechs.

ASSAULT:

Awesome - A lot of negative hype around this guy, don't believe it. Excellent fire support mech. Great maneuverability for an assault. Mech quirks give you bonuses to cooling, particularly with energy weapons.

Stalker - More durable than the Awesome but maneuvers like a freighter. Plenty of high mounted hardpoints for minimum exposure.

MEDIUM:

Shadowhawk - Pretty versatile mech, not quite as good up close as the Wolverine and Griffin, lends itself to a fire support role in that light.

Trebuchet - Excellent IS medium LRM platform. Low mounted hardpoints on most models make it a poorer choice for direct fire builds.