#1 JSmith7784

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Merciless
  • The Merciless
  • 139 posts
  • LocationBuffalo, NY

Posted 15 October 2014 - 11:09 AM

Hello everyone,
I'm currently running my PC which I got back in 2010.

It's a Digital Storm custom build I got myself for Christmas years ago:
I7-950 OC'd to 3.5Ghz
6GB DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX770SC 4GB
SB X-FI soundcard
Corsair 850TX PSU

I'm using a 27" Samsung LCD @1080P.

The system plays MWO at high to very high settings with almost no issues. I have V-sync on and rarely do I dip below 60fps. I do get occasional drops into the 40's, but usually only during heaving combat with lots of smoke and effects.

I'm planning on adding more ram and going to 12gb since Star Citizen almost maxes out the 6gb I currently have. Will adding more ram help with MWO (I would assume no)?

What can I do with my current set up to help increase performance? I'm not in the market for a new system yet. I know a little about overclocking, but I'm by no means an expert or comfortable with it. My CPU temps are fine at 3.5GHZ, but I would be concerned going close to 4GHZ on air cooling since I've read the I-950 tends to get very warm at those speeds. I'm guessing I would need to upgrade to a CLC cooler if I went that route.

Any advice is appreciated

Thanks.

#2 Flapdrol

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 1,986 posts

Posted 15 October 2014 - 11:19 AM

It might get hot, it might not, kind of depends on the quality of your chip, you'll only know if you try.

In mwo you'll be cpu limited with that gpu, if you can get it a bit higher you'll have a bit better performance.

#3 Summon3r

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,291 posts
  • Locationowning in sommet non meta

Posted 15 October 2014 - 06:45 PM

with your system you have only one option, OC your cpu more, that is MWO end of story. though with your performance i dont see any reason to but to each there own.... that chip should hit 4ghz easy tho

#4 Goose