48 replies to this topic

#1 mad kat

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 1,907 posts
  • LocationFracking the third toaster.

Posted 16 October 2014 - 02:27 AM

So i've been playing this game for over two years now and played thousands of games. But i've not once used modules except for cool shot and only played with artillery/air strike in training grounds.

I consider myself to be a half decent player (gonna regret saying that now) but i really don't see any reason whatsoever why i should save lots of GXP (time) and spend as much c-bills on modules when they could land me medium mech with endo steel for the same value and bunging that GXP on speeding up the skills process. For that reason I've never bothered. I would far rather buy a shiny new mech or engine or some DHS than waste my Cbill's (4million!) on a module that is debatable whether or not they actually benefit me let alone be worth as much as a Trebuchet. To top it off you only get one!! So not automatically applied across your mech garage, Rip off i think.

Sure Radar Dep would be nice with the current LRM spam these days and Advance zoom would come in handy but i feel modules are just compensating for lack of situational awareness and preventing yourself from being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Likewise with the recent module changes that got these forums up in arms and rage i wasn't in the least bit arsed. My raven 3l is completely module-less. Wasted Maybe, but i don't see any modules offering an advantage which cannot be compensated for the price of them.

Call me a cynic but anyone else out there got a similar frame of mind?

Edited by mad kat, 16 October 2014 - 02:31 AM.

#2 9erRed

• Overlord
  • 1,566 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 16 October 2014 - 03:11 AM

Greetings,

Specifically for that Raven,

- It comes with a BAP built-in so this helps somewhat.