- - - - -

Need Help With Buying My First Mech

12 replies to this topic

#1 Honolulu26

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 02:12 AM

Hi,

I'm new to MWO and I need some help choosing the first mech to buy, because the game is not really noob-friendly :P My search on the forum did not really bring satisfying results, so I'm creating a new topic.

Of the Trial Mechs I've tested the Nova Prime seems to fit my playstyle best.
My Questions:

1) Did this Nerf ( http://mwomercs.com/...for-laser-nerf/ ) happen? Is the Nova still worth playing?
2) The armament of the stock Nova Prime is bad, because you can't even fire all weapons at once. By the time you're cool enough again, your weapons are ready. So some of those Medium Lasers are just a waste of space and tonnage. Is it possible to buy so many Heatsinks that you can fire all 12 lasers?

3) I really like PPCs. Is the Nova good for this? Comparing these two: (Nova is an experiment of mine that I quickly created) http://mwo.smurfy-ne...c76b351786fcae7 and http://mwo.smurfy-ne...23c011405ec62ec (Thanks Mar X Man). While both have the same firepower and cooling efficiency, the Nova still has no armor. Are PPCs even worth using?

4) How newb-friendly is the Adder with two PPCs? How's the Awesome with 3 PPCs (the cheaper one)? How's the Hunchback 4G (the one with AC 20)? How's the Catapult K-2?

I think that should be all questions I have for now. I'd really appreciate any help with my questions. :)

#2 Chuanhao

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Raider
  • The Raider
  • 520 posts
  • LocationSingapore

Posted 23 October 2014 - 03:46 AM

I am also a PPC lover - even with the speed nerf.