20 replies to this topic

#1 Darian DelFord

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 3,342 posts
  • LocationFlorida

Posted 30 October 2014 - 05:37 PM

As we all may know and if you do not well, i am a light mech pilot activist. Having seen a preview of some of the mechs in action (NGNG Previews) I am concerned for us lights. Now I will wholeheartedly admit we need to wait and see. However I was concerned about the light play before the quirks and I am even more concerned now. The game has consistently pushed lights into the ground for some time now. I feel as though these quirks (While many mechs did need help) will be so significant that the light population will dwindle even more. Even some of the quirks that the lights are getting will not allow them to compete. If you buff everything then everything stays at the same level

So I am just stirring the pot here and asking what other light pilots think about the quirks and some of the vids that have come out? we have the numbers now what do we think will happen with us?

Edited by Darian DelFord, 30 October 2014 - 05:39 PM.

#2 Bigbacon

• The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 3,088 posts

Posted 30 October 2014 - 05:52 PM

i am also concerned...

we might get some extra punch but machine gun LBXs, ACs, and what not are going to make it much tougher on us. rate of fire is going to get us i think.

#3 Foxfire

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 1,904 posts

Posted 30 October 2014 - 06:02 PM

The issue is with the fundamental design of game mechanics that makes the Armor vs Speed tradeoff greatly favored towards Armor.

#4 beerandasmoke

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 498 posts

Posted 30 October 2014 - 06:21 PM

If the quirks go into effect then brawler lights like the ember and jenner are going to have a rough time. Peek and poke mechs like the raven and cicada will be fine since IS cant bring that ROF too bear.

#5 Kanatta Jing

• 1,178 posts