- - - - -

New Player Needing 'role' Help

Help Me

37 replies to this topic

#1 AgarethPT

Rookie

• 6 posts

Posted 20 November 2014 - 03:35 AM

FYI: I do tend to make long posts and I apologise for that in advance. There is a TLDR thingy at the bottom if you dont waht to go through the wall of text below. :)

Hey guys,

I'm REALLY new to MWO and I'm strugling a bit with my role ingame.

I had litle experience with the genre offline (3 games) and none online so, I decided to take a support(ish) role while I learn the ropes and for that I went the LRM boat way.
"GAWWWWWWD.....Why another LRM newb?????" You may ask.....
- Because I really am a newb :D
- Because I still have trouble controling the mech and the more I stay in the back the less I move and the less I move the less I screw up :D

So, I did my 25 first games, got some money and decided to get my first Mech and for that I bought the Catapult. Now, I understand it isn't THE smartest choice but looking at the specs, with the money I had and knowing I wanted an LRM boat it felt a solid enough choice.
Now to the mess up (keep in mind I'm a newb :lol: ) I went for the C4 because "hey... the more missile points the better right??". At that point in time I though I could change my specs a lot more freely but sadly I now understand I can't and I'm stuck with, what feels to me, an unbalanced Mech (good thing I dodged the A1 :lol:). Had I knew I couldn't change that initial configuration I'd go for the C1 but it's too late now.

I've been toying arround with different specs (and a lot of money) to try and make it work. If I 'married' the thing I may as well right? :D
For the life of me I can't make it work well enough to make me feel as I'm pulling my own weight, all 65 tons of it :lol:.

I tried the initial setup with 2x20LRM and what feels like 2 squirt guns. Needless to say I get wrecked if something sneaks up on me and I carry low ammo numbers.