• 4,519 posts
  • LocationEurope

Posted 25 November 2014 - 03:34 AM

• Agree or not?
  • If not, why don't you agree?
  • What would you like to see improved?

I agree.

My thoughs:
I personally think the armor is still too weak. It gets off way too fast for a 100 ton. (With torso twisting being an exception.) The hardpoints...dont bother.
The internal structure update was a nice addition. But the overal quirks are pretty poor for the Atlas.

The only plus i see are some cooling for lasers here and there and the internal structure update.

Discuss!

Edited by Sarlic, 25 November 2014 - 03:35 AM.

#2 Sir Wulfrick

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 872 posts
  • LocationIn a warship, over your planet :-)

Posted 26 November 2014 - 07:05 AM

As a veteran Atlas driver myself I would agree,

There are some competitive Atlas builds, such as a AC-20, 4 x SRM-6 with artimis build on the AS7-S, however these are really niche builds that are only truly effective on the more brawling-oriented maps. The central problem with the Atlas, in my opinion, has always been that for a 100 tonne mech it's actually hardpoint-deficient. Here's my reasoning for that:

1. If we accept the premise that mobility > armour, then it would be a wise decision to put a relatively large engine in our Atlas. I certainly like taking at the minimum something like a 340 standard just to give it the ability to (sort of) keep up with the team. We could argue that one of the jobs of the company commander would be to ensure that the lighter members of the team assist with positioning for assault mechs, since the Dire Wolf and Atlas in particular are too slow to hope to disengage from an unfavourable position, but that's another argument entirely. I think assuming a fairly large engine is a safe assumption.