Help Me Question

31 replies to this topic

#1 Julopabene

• Pip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 14 posts

Posted 23 January 2015 - 01:11 PM

I'm a very new player (started about a week ago and now I'm done with the cadet boni). And I'm sure you already guessed it, I would like to know which 'Mech would be a good starter mech.
I've played all of the trial mechs and I'm not good with Assaults or Heavies. I do like the light 'Mechs, although I'm not that good in them. However, I like to play the Medium category. More specifically the Centurion-9 A(C). I've had pretty good games with it, as I understood the basic gameplay with it (get close, fire an alpha, shield with left arm, repeat). My personal best is about 600 dmg and 3 kills. Now I would like to know a few things,
a) Is my described playstyle the right onefor the Centurion?
B) how do you call the Centurion playstyle?
c) Should I get a Centurion or a different medium 'Mech, including variants (no MC 'Mech, and if you recommend a 'Mech please consider, that, since this is my first 'Mech, it should be pretty good "out of the box", since I'll be short on my budget after the purchase (I only have 11 mil. C-Bills)).
Thanks for reading :)

#2 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 23 January 2015 - 01:30 PM

Centurions have the luxury of being able to cater to a wide range of playstyles.
(Though in my opinion they are not as versatile as Hunchbacks in that unlike Hunchbacks, Centurions can't accommodate virtually every single playstyle)