Target Detection Range

19 replies to this topic

#1 Atlasian

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • 168 posts
  • LocationSingapore

Posted 25 January 2015 - 06:54 AM

Hi. Not a newbie here but still I do not understand the range of detection on a target.

A target that is a distance away but in line of sight does not show a red triangle over it as my detection is out of range. So how close should be the effective range before the red triangle appears for me to press 'R'?

In addition, I can see a ECM-equipped target in close range, but what is the effective range before the red triangle appears over it?

Thanks.

#2 Thorqemada

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,366 posts

Posted 25 January 2015 - 08:31 AM

Target Detection Range is 800m, 1000m, 1200m if you have a Line of Sight to the target - no Line of Sight = no Target!
800m standard
1000m with BAP or Sensor Range Module
1200m with BAP + Sensor Range Module
You also get all Targets that your Team has a Line of Sight to - be it direct or per little stationary drone that temporarily gives some airborne scouting data.

ECM will break most of these rules and it goes to far why - if you cant target an Enemy you or your Teams does see it has probably ECM cover.
BAP will counter 1 ECM in a range of 240m around it (if there are 2 ECM you need 2 BAP etc).
ECM will counter 1 ECM if it is in ECCM mode - but it will no longer offer ECM to friendly Units that way.
TAG (Target Aquisition Gear - a Laserbeam that is on the Target) may enable you to target 1 Enemy in ECM cover up to 750m away.
NARC is a Missile that has 450m range and sends a signal that makes a Mech targetable for while when an enemy Mech was hit by it - the Signal itself has a big range.

Edited by Thorqemada, 25 January 2015 - 08:43 AM.

#3 dragnier1

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Covert
  • The Covert
  • 1,054 posts

Posted 25 January 2015 - 10:20 AM