#1 H00L1GAN

• PipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 79 posts
  • LocationSo Cal

Posted 28 January 2015 - 10:26 AM

Hi all, TIA for opinions and advice.

I've been driving mechs since the dawn of PC and played Mechwarrior RPG and Battletech (and Aerotech) when I was little.

I fairly suck at MWO, been playing slightly less than a week. But I love it. I want to improve and be part of the bigger game, CW, etc.

I know what i'm doing wrong as a pilot, I've been scoring more lately, trying not to chase bait, rush, remembering it's a sim and not an FPS, etc.. I usually play the trial summoner and try and remember to snipe and not brawl.

As far as the rest of the game I am in extreme need of advice. I have 9,760,109 C-bills and 2667 GXP. i'm ready to spend but can't afford a summoner yet. Also, I can't spend real world $ for about a week.

Can I get a quick primer on what I should buy that can take a few hits, has JJ, and is long range?

how do I / Should I spend my GXP?

Also, is 50.00 a good inital investment in the game?

thanks for helping me unnewb myself. :)

#2 Banditman

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,109 posts
  • LocationThe Templars

Posted 28 January 2015 - 10:32 AM

If you are going to play consistently, the best purchase you can make is Premium time. Nothing else will get you further faster. I'd recommend starting with 30 days. The key is consistency. If you're only playing once or twice a week the premium time won't really have enough opportunity to pay off, but if you're playing three or four (or more) times per week, yea, you're going to get tremendous value from premium time.

The next most valuable investment is mech bays. You can't even begin to understand the quality of life improvement you experience by having more mech bays at your disposal.

For starting out, that's all I'd recommend. If you like the game, at that point start looking at some of the mech packages such as Resistance or Clan.