Pnt-10K Panther. Finally, A Light Mech I Actually Like.

BattleMechs

88 replies to this topic

#1 Bishop Steiner

ForumWarrior

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Hammer
  • The Hammer
  • 47,187 posts
  • Locationclimbing Mt Tryhard, one smoldering Meta-Mech corpse at a time

Posted 26 February 2015 - 08:31 PM

So.

I'm not a Light jock, as a rule. I'm a Medium Mech pilot. I do OK, in a few Lights, like the Huginn, Founder's Jenner (as a NARC spotter... suck as a duelist), and of course, Firestarters, because, well, anyone can do pretty well in Firestarters.

But I never really liked them, felt a lot of fun from them, etc.

Then the Panther came along. Not real fast, by Light standards, but able to outrun almost any Medium. Good agility. JJs. Decent armor, and seems like fantastic hitboxes.

So what do I run? Nothing special.

Max Armor and JJs.
250xl
1x ER PPC
2x SRM4

I generally just run it like I would my Medium Mechs, running along the perimeter, supporting the unit, blunting salients, etc.

Do I put up 1000 pt/ 10 kill matches?

No. I've only done that in Firestarters and back when the Raven-3L was borked as heck. But I tend to survive, and get 1-2 kills pretty much every match. So far my top damage was mid 500s. But for me, in a Light Mech? It's done well.

So maybe that's the deal. The Panther is the Light Mech for people who don't do Light Mechs?

Edited by Bishop Steiner, 26 February 2015 - 09:31 PM.

#2 Greenjulius

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 2,319 posts
  • LocationIllinois

Posted 26 February 2015 - 08:35 PM

I think concensus is that it will never be a competitive mech, but is generally fun in a Mist Lynx kind of way.

I see it being better than the Stynx however because it has more TrueDubs due to the 250 engine. I still need to try out some LPL builds on this thing.

Edited by Greenjulius, 26 February 2015 - 08:36 PM.

#3 Bishop Steiner

ForumWarrior