8 replies to this topic

#1 charov

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 1,110 posts
  • LocationLondon - UK

Posted 27 February 2015 - 01:37 AM

PGI hasn't released their idea about MASC yet, so here's mine. I'll try to make this short.

I'm not an expert of the TT, but looking at sarna I found that a turn should represent 10" of a real battle. Also, I found that MASC freezes the leg actuators at 3+ on the first turn, 4+ on the second, 5+ on the third etc. Therefore I suppose that is quite safe for a couple of turns (ok, I shouldn't say that: I used to play Warhammer 40k TT and I am the only person on this world to have stuck a Baneblade and a Malcador in one turn, that's four 1 on four consecutive D6..).
Basically, my idea is that MASC should generate 1 heat in the first second, 2 heats on the second, 3 heat on the third etc.

TL;DR: MASC should generate 1hps, cumulative.

Possible objections:
  • MASC can be used for too long! No, not really. Especially in hotter maps, you usually have a 5%-8% of heat constantly generated while you move. Also, if you use jump jets you speed up the overheating process. Finally, you can't almost shoot with the MASC on, otherwise you'll shutdown very quickly.
  • MASC can be used for too short time! No, again not really. It's a short period if you manage it badly. You are not supposed to keep firing alpha with MASC activated and not overheat! If you manage it properly it gives to enough time to reposition your mech, move from the first to the second line. Also, more DHS means a longer run with the MASC turned on and also coolshots can reduce the heat a bit. MASC is an asset, it's up to you to use it properly.