Question About The Jenner.

23 replies to this topic

#1 Mole

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 3,314 posts
  • LocationAt work, cutting up brains for a living.

Posted 07 March 2015 - 04:17 PM

So I just decided to pick up some Jenners. I am a light mech pilot and I am a big fan of my LCT-1E with 6 medium lasers and my RVN-2X with 4 medium lasers and 1 SRM 6. I do great in these mechs and I rarely ever get hit by anything big. So I thought I would love the Jenner. Fast, jump jets, lots of lasers, sounds great, right? Well apparently not. This mech, I swear, this mech is the only IS light mech I have ever piloted that I am constantly getting pegged by Gauss Rifles and AC/20s and PPCs. Just there one second and gone the next. And when I'm not getting hit by large things it seems that the Jenner suffers from the light mech equivalent of the same problem the Awesome has: HUGE CT hitbox. Like every little scrap of damage my Jenner takes goes to the CT and I end up cored out in seconds no matter how I am dodging whereas if I were in my Locust I could have taken the same amount of damage and spread it out all over my mech and come out without even a single stripped component. So does anyone else have this issue, or is it just me? Because I cannot figure out why on Earth the Jenner is apparently so much easier to hit than your other run of the mill light mech.

#2 Impossible Wasabi

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Nimble
  • 462 posts

Posted 07 March 2015 - 04:26 PM

No, you are not alone.

It's a pretty well known fact that the terrible CT hitbox (which stems from the Early Beta days of the so-called "lag shield") make the Jenner particularly prone to dying.

So like you said, anything shot anywhere near your center torso, tends to hit your center torso perfectly and when it's a decent alpha (such as Gauss or AC20s), you won't be around for long.