New Starter Advice

10 replies to this topic

#1 CLAN MONKEY

Rookie

• Bridesmaid
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 April 2015 - 02:57 AM

Hello fellow Clanners.

I'm new to MWO, but have played BT/MW since table top (I still have it in the loft!).

I've dabbled with IS, but seem to get on better with Clan mechs so I've gone full Clan now.

I have a Stormcrow and a Mist Lynx and for CW I've been dropping with trial Hellbringer (for ECM cover) and Gladiator . . .

I'm saving up for a Hellbringer as I find the trial version painfully hot to run, I feel a custom build would suit me better and get more out of the mech and still retain ECM to further help the team, or should I be buying more Stormcrows to elite and master, you thoughts please???

#2 FlipOver

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 1,135 posts
  • LocationIsland Continent of Galicia, Poznan

Posted 14 April 2015 - 03:00 AM

I'm all for the underdog, but when it comes to clans your best bet would be to master the stormcrows. They are good at basic, they become even better when mastered.
Before buying a mech you should have twice the amount of money that it costs, so you can freely customize it if you need to.

So play around, enjoy the game and get many C-Bills first. Then go for mastering one of the best mechs around (stormcrow) and go from there to other mechs.

Edit - for now, nothing prevents you from having 2 or 3 stormcrows on your dropdeck. So master them and use them.

Edited by FlipOver, 14 April 2015 - 03:01 AM.

#3 NUJRSYDEVIL

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Brother
  • Big Brother
  • 331 posts

Posted 14 April 2015 - 09:01 AM

The Hellbringer is probably the most useful CW clan mech. The CW style of play fits it extremely well.

#4 Ridir Semii

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 499 posts
  • LocationPort Torture, Washington, USA

Posted 14 April 2015 - 09:33 AM

Hellbringer, my goto mech, 7 medium pulse, ecm and active probe, up the armour, near full.