Question

30 replies to this topic

#1 Parapraxis192

Rookie

• 7 posts
  • LocationMuncie, IN

Posted 18 April 2015 - 06:34 PM

Hi everyone!

As the title says, I'm new to MWO, but I'm not new to the Mechwarrior games. I played Mechwarrior 2 a long, long time ago (in a galaxy far far away) when I was a kid, and more recently have played the Mechcommander games and have begun getting into the tabletop game as well, having bought the newest box set.

Anyhow, enough with that. I do have a few questions about the game that I figured I'd ask while I was fooling around on here. I'm currently about to start my "training" games.

1) I'm most interested in medium range and brawling type engagements. What is your personal favorite chassis for those ranges, and why? Feel free to give tips on loadouts and builds, too!

2) Is it worth saving up for a Clan chassis? The MWO rendition of the Timberwolf is gorgeous, so I've been thinking of saving up for one while I was looking at the game.

3) I was going over some videos on YouTube and happened across one of a Stalker with six PPC's. Is that... a normal thing to see?

4) Another question related to a YouTube video I found the other day. Are LRM's still as incredible powerful as what I saw in that video? It was rather old, but the games basically looked like one big game of rocket tag.

Other than that, I can't really think of anything else. Feel free to add me in game if you'd like. I'm planning on getting a headset soon (or at least, Blizzard Soon).

#2 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 18 April 2015 - 06:50 PM

You want to choose IS or Clan, initially. This is due to how the game systems work for things like getting your pilot skills (need three variants of a chassis to get Elite skills) and how Community Warfare is restricted to one faction or the other, whichever you choose.