Truly Atrocious Tbr Performance...

33 replies to this topic

#1 grendeldog

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 340 posts

Posted 20 April 2015 - 07:35 PM

Hi there. So I'm not new so much anymore, but I'm new to this mech, and I know this forum is a lot more active than the heavy mech forum, as well as being full of people that genuinely want to help other players out.

So I can pilot other mechs fine - I do best in mediums, with my record for damage being ~1300 in the SCR-C stock build. I've gotten quite a few four or five kill games in the HBK-4P and SCRs prime and -C. I can even rack up kills in heavy mechs - though my heavy damage record is sub-1000, I have killed seven mechs and singlehandely won an assault match in my 8 MPL GHR-4N and got the creeping death achievement in my GHR-4H. I even did okay when I had to lurm-boat the SCR-D to master my Stormcrows.

Heck, I can even do well with a few kills per game in the stock Nova prime.

But I just suck soooo hard with the Timber. Like, not even breaking 100 damage in the worst rounds, barely surpassing 400 in my better rounds sucking. It's slow, fat, impossibly hot, squishy, and ineffective even with direct fire weapons in my hands (emphasis on in my hands - I know it is a powerful mech). Something tells me that there's just a fundamental disconnect between how I am playing and how the Timber needs to be played.

I know that pilots won't necessarily do well in every mech, and that some people just are terrible in an assault or heavy, yet can slaughter in a light, or vice versa. And I do acknowledge that I work better in mediums than heavies, for sure, though I've been running mediums since day one whereas I've only picked up heavies in the last week or two. But I find it hard to believe that my 'can't do it' mech turns out to be arguably the best chassis in the game, and definitely in the top 3 or 4.