• The Blood Bound
  • The Blood Bound
  • 57 posts
  • LocationKráľovce, Slovakia

Posted 06 May 2015 - 09:09 AM

My laptop:
CPU: Intel Core i5-2520 (2.50GHz)
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6450M (1GB)
RAM: 4GB (DDR3, 1333MHz [not really sure about those, that's what I found on the net])
(Laptop is Toshiba Tecra R850-154)

MechWarrior Online Recommended System Spec:
CPU: Core i3-2500 / AMD Athlon II X4 650
GPU:GeForce GTX 285 / Radeon HD 5830
RAM: 8 GB
DirectX: DX9
HDD Space: 8 GB

I am no expert in computers, so I decided to ask you, fellow warriors.
I run the game on the LOW settings and I manage to get 30 FPS on maps with no special effects or wild lighting like Forest Colony or Frozen City Night. But then there are some maps like Minning Collective that make my FPS drop to 20. I noticed that I probably am (not really sure, I am mostly console player so this things are kinda alien to me) a slightly above recommended specs, except for the RAM. So my question is: "Would upgrade to 8GB of RAM make any difference (at least +5 FPS)?"

I don't have enough money to buy a better gaming laptop and probably won't be able to any time soon. So this is probably the only way how to improve my FPS a little bit. Is it worth the money spent, or should I just grit my teeth and somehow live with my current situation? I really love this game, already spent some money on it, and I would like to enjoy it as much as possible.

#2 SwalerD

Rookie

• The 1 Percent
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 May 2015 - 10:00 AM

More RAM never hurts, although it's not really going to help you much here I'm afraid. The issue here is your GPU. The 6450M has had terrible reviews across the board as far as a gaming GPU goes, hell, even my extremely dated nVidia GT 430 performs better than that chip pushing out a nice, steady 60fps on high settings.