Terrain Issues / Invisble Barriers... How Can We Help?

2 replies to this topic

#1 2MyBalls

• PipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 46 posts
  • LocationBamberg

Posted 27 June 2015 - 08:11 AM

Hi Mechwarriors,

I'm very new to MWO, so sorry if this is already existing topic (I did not find any fitting in the forums)

As a new player I find very frustrating getting stuck on invisible terrain, and shooting invisible walls/hills, in a competitive shooting game...

so the question came to mind: "Why this have to be like this?"

I know that new maps take a lot of work and effort to develop, test and optimise.

I'm concerned about the already existing maps. Those are already there, only the textures and terrain need to be more clutch and slick.

My questions are:

- What would it take to "fix" or re-render the already existing maps?
- What can I do as player to help?
- Is it possible that some talented people in the community could "remake" the already existing maps?
- If it is a question of CPU time, can I "donate" my CPU time like in "SETI@Home"?

Fight well warriors

Edited by 2MyBalls, 28 June 2015 - 08:28 AM.

#2 Vegalas

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 136 posts
  • LocationAt the screen. On my seat too.

Posted 29 June 2015 - 02:17 AM

Hey there, I'm not sure if this is the right topic for this discussion but the invisible wall issue has been all over the place for a very long time now. You could get a grasp of the problem by simply searching for "invisible wall" on the forums. I would bet that it's the most discussed gameplay issue on the forums since the beta. I'm not sure what the problem is with fixing them. Somebody speculated that cryengine is simply hard to work with and that could very well be the case. I doubt that it's easy to work with evn with better experience. I remember that there was a thread made for collecting pictures about the spots so that they could be fixed but I can't seem to find it anymore.