I Think I'm About Ready For Some New Weapons

68 replies to this topic

#1 Maxx Blue

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 370 posts

Posted 02 July 2015 - 09:22 AM

I'm not quite a founder, but I've been playing this game pretty steadily for a couple years now, and I think I'm ready for some new weapons. When the clans came out that helped a little because the autocannons played somewhat differently as did the LRM's, but on the IS side I've been using the same suite of weapons ever since I started playing. Sure the SRM and LRM patterns and the damage values have changed from time to time, but really I think I've finally reached a point where every build I make on a new IS mech feels like something I already used on a different IS mech. I'm not too far off on feeling that way with clans either thanks to the extreme hardpoint flexibility from Omnipods and the fact that lasers, gauss and PPC's play the same as the IS versions.

Anyway, I think I'm at a point now where I really want to see some new weapon options added. Not necessarily totally new weapon mechanics but more options or side-grades. The PPC variants: light, heavy, snub-nose. Some of the ballistic variants: heavy MG's (not sure light MG's really matter), Light AC2/AC5/Gauss. MRM's for sure. The nice thing about all these is that they wouldn't need to code new mechanics into the client, just add copies of the existing items with some different values in the XML.