Started Playing Wows... A Few Things To Think About...

84 replies to this topic

#1 oldradagast

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • 4,833 posts

Posted 03 July 2015 - 06:45 PM

So, World of Warships entered open Beta this week. While for many on this forum, battlemechs were the giant war machines that they were into while young, for me it was naval warships, particularly those of WW2. Not that I don't like battlmechs, of course, but you get the idea.

This thread isn't meant as a comparison between the two game companies, player base, or so forth, nor do I mean it to bash PGI, but a few things became painfully apparent when I started playing an Open Beta of this competitor's online game.

1) Performance: My machine is decent for gaming, though it is 2.5 years old. And yet, I can run WoWS - in Open Beta - at nearly the highest settings across the board and still get 50+ to 60+ frames per second. Meanwhile, my same machine with nearly everything set to the lowest settings is only pulling a bit over 40 fps - sometimes worse - in MWO.

There's probably a pile of technical reasons, though I'm left to wonder how many of them are truly insurmountable... Clearly, it's not that my machine is "potato" that can't run the latest games. No - the problem is in MWO.

2) Flavor for your universe: When I hover over a ship in WoWS while in port on in the tech tree, it gives me a nice little historical summary of the vessel and its class. Why can't we have that in MWO for the mechs? The information is available, and Battletech has many years of lore behind it. It would do something to add some character and depth to the mechs and make them more than just a pile of hardpoints and hitboxes that people complain about.

3) Where am I? When you start on a map in WoWS, your location and that of your team is clearly shown. Meanwhile, in MWO, we get nothing but the map itself. It makes it hard to plan strategies when you have no clue where you are until the match begins.