Author's Corner

174 replies to this topic

#1 XxXAbsolutZeroXxX

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Stryker
  • The Stryker
  • 2,056 posts

Posted 15 August 2015 - 01:24 AM

I've noticed that George Miller (Mad Max Fury Road), George Lucas and many others cite Joseph Campbell as being the man.

https://en.wikipedia...ced_by_the_work

I know nothing about it. But it seems like it could be interesting.

#2 Mister Blastman

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 8,444 posts
  • LocationIn my Mech (Atlanta, GA)

Posted 15 August 2015 - 06:46 PM

Heh I'm pooped. I just spit out 3k words this afternoon in a re-write. That's a lot of prose!

#3 Atlai

• Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 3,439 posts
  • Locationfrom the East of the South end of the North

Posted 15 August 2015 - 08:06 PM

Heyyoo, I'm an aspiring writer myself. It's cool to see others have a similar interest :lol:

I just finished writing my first book at 90,000 something words, It's currently in the process of being edited :)

I'm super excited, but I'm not entirely sure what I want to do with it... Either self publish or run it through a publisher?

Your concept seems interesting Marack, let me know when you finish and I'd love to read it.

#4 Hans Von Lohman

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • 1,466 posts

Posted 15 August 2015 - 11:07 PM

Being an aspiring author is one thing. If you are actually writing something that is out there, then I think "aspiring" is just a code word for "underpaid".

After all, if you have material out there you wrote, well then you are a writer. Being an "aspiring" means you don't yet feel you can make a living on just the writing.

I'm thinking of writing a few short stories (some military sci-fi, some steampunk) and I think it could be fun, but I don't expect to make money doing it. I just do it for fun.

#5 Mister Blastman

• Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 8,444 posts

Posted 16 August 2015 - 08:50 AM