- - - - -

A Word Of Advice, Please.

86 replies to this topic

#1 N0D

• PipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 2
  • 61 posts

Posted 31 August 2015 - 08:12 AM

Greetings. I'm new to the game and mwo forums...

"Ah... the classical which-mech-first-for-a-beginner question!"... is what your thought will probably be if you continue reading this, and that'll be somewhat true. However! There are some reasons for me to create one of those topics, which were made hundreds of times.
First of all, my gameplay preference is sort of unusual: i am a loner and i like sniping with instant hit weapons and hide in cover, when receive return fire. And no, i've tried lrm's and ppc's on some trial mechs and i don't like how it "feels" to control them. Ppc's need some degree of prediction on long range (i'm no good at that yet), and lrm's are... well... they feel "unrewarding". No skill involved, limited pinpoint potential, and stuff like that.
Currently i'm running HBK-4P with 2 ERLL's at highest attach points (for shooting, while showing only the little bit of a "hunch" over terrain) and 7 SL's for those, who appear up close out of nowhere (sadly, this happens A LOT). This satisfies me for now, except my damage output seems somewhat low. I've bought HBK because i wanted to customize something, and HBK was medium, cheap and laser oriented (4p). Aside from that, this mech will most likely be temporary, and i won't upgrade it further with any of those double sinks, better engines and stuff.
Secondly, i sort of already know which mechs i want to pilot... in theory. The actual advice i would gladly accept, is to which one i should try to grind my way to from the start, and what should the loadout be. The mechs in question are SCR-PRIME with an array of lasers for different situations and DWF-S with 8 C-ERLL's only (because Daishi is toooo sloooow to follow enemy light mech up close with its crosshairs anyway, so if lights surround me, i'm dead for sure)