The Old Battletech Mechs...worth Buying?

7 replies to this topic

#1 BuckshotSchell

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 143 posts
  • LocationIn a private drop ship, on the way to your planet. Please have C-bills on hand.

Posted 23 October 2015 - 06:12 AM

So I started playing battletech in the 80's when I was a kid and I love the old mechs from that time. Ive been playing MWO for about two weeks and I'm enjoying it, but was kind of bummed not to see some of my old favorites from battletech available. With the Marauder and Warhammer coming out though and seeing how most people are playing certain META types it got me wondering if these classic mechs will be worth spending the money for. I really may get the Warhammer pack just for the nostalgia anyway, but it would be even better if they were a good machine to use in game. I would love to see the Archer and wasp/stinger as well. So do yall feel the Mad, and WMR will be good in game mechs?

#2 jaxjace

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Merciless
  • The Merciless
  • 987 posts
  • LocationIn orbit around your world

Posted 23 October 2015 - 06:23 AM

the warhammer unless it gets insane quirks will be DOA

The marauder will be about on par with a Black Knight, but will still be nothing compared to a TBR which the blacknight also is not matched up to. So unfortunately its also DOA

#3 Lujke85

• PipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 31 posts

Posted 23 October 2015 - 06:59 AM

If you consider playing the tier 1/2 games, you might not be able to cope with a "non-meta" mech. But if you're just starting, and working your way up, I seriously don't think any mech in MWO is unplayable... I've had fun in every build and mech I've been in. I got the warhammer pack, and I'm looking forward to some PPC goodness!

#4 Sagedabluemage

• PipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 97 posts

Posted 23 October 2015 - 07:14 AM