Developer Chat with Omid Kiarostami

12 replies to this topic

#1 Dale

• PipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 98 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 02:01 PM

A transcript of the chat, with minor formatting to make it easier to read.

Background

<IGP_Mike> Omid, why not tell us a little more about yourself and your past work?

<[PGI]Omid> My education/background is Computer Engineering and I've been working in games on and off since 2006. I got my start at Electronic Arts (working on FIFA) and have been unreasonably happy with my career choice ever since.
<[PGI]Omid> I've worked both QA and a diverse range of Engineering roles, so I have a pretty grounded perspective on what goes on in a game team
<[PGI]Omid> I joined Piranha in early 2011 as they were finishing up some contract work. I signed up because I knew they had the MechWarrior IP and, being a huge fan of the series, I was determined to get in and wait it out
<[PGI]Omid> Turns out I didn't need to wait very long - shortly after we secured a publisher and the rest is history

Question 1

<IGP_Mike> ================== First Q: <Chris K> Will there been any sort of firing range/testing grounds that we can use to test out our mech’s load outs for purposes of heat management etc before we take them into battle?

<[PGI]Omid> Yes, we have plans for this feature (though it currently does not exist in our current Beta implementation). It's our intention that you should be able to check out your 'Mech before going into a match.
<[PGI]Omid> I should add though that these decisions usually come down from design (Bryan Ekman, etc) and we act on them according to their priorities

Question 2

<IGP_Mike> =========================================== <Steve S> How is chatting, either with the keyboard or by voice, handled in MWO (and does this include a global setting)?

<[PGI]Omid> You have Team/Lance/All chat available in game