Looking For Ballistic Assault Mech Suggestions/advice

11 replies to this topic

#1 icthulu

Rookie

• Bridesmaid
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 January 2016 - 06:41 AM

After playing around with laser exclusive mechs, I wanted to add a ballistic mech to my bays. Since these weapons are absurdly heavy, I narrowed it down to 2 builds I think work, but I've never used ballistics before so I was hoping that more experienced players could offer insight and suggestions.

Currently I was looking at a 4 gun 1 lrg laser Dire Wolf
http://mwo.smurfy-ne...b9db2e9958ec6ed

vs a 2 gun x3 6SRM Atlas (For the ECM and AIMS)
http://mwo.smurfy-ne...d868cd8e62777f3

Any advice, suggestions? I would rather the ballistic only, but ECM and AIMS is really useful.

Thanks.

#2 Spheroid

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 5,061 posts
  • LocationSouthern Wisconsin

Posted 17 January 2016 - 10:16 AM

Dire needs more ammo and the Atlas can remove the BAP and AMS. DDCs often run Artemis but this is not a hard rule. I would also revert to an AC-20 although people do like dual LBX-10 on some builds.

#3 icthulu

Rookie

• Bridesmaid
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 January 2016 - 01:23 PM

What's a DDC?

The reason I put aside the 20 for x2 10's was the cooldown rate was a little more conducive to brawling with a bit more range. Though having no experience, I will definitely try the 20 out.

I wanted x2 20's but lord, these things take up way too much tonage and space. Not sure why the game seems to penalize the ballistics so much. The lower heat gain almost doesn't seem worth it.

The Atlas was scrounging for every ton I could find, so that's why I didn't choose Artemis, though if BAP is irrelevant at that range, I'll give it a go and see what the balance works out to.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Any chassis that I might also look at? Running through them all felt like they were all geared to energy weapons, and only these two stood out as viable ballistic chassis.