39 replies to this topic

#1 3xnihilo

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 2,980 posts
  • LocationPennsylvania

Posted 12 February 2016 - 10:09 AM

Do you use throttle decay and why? I am primarily a light pilot so I leave throttle decay on because it gives better acceleration/deceleration which helps maneuverability. I know a lot (most?) players turn throttle decay off on heavier mechs and I am currently working my way through some bigger mechs. I was curious if it is more advantageous to turn it off, or Is it just a personal preference?

#2 Hobo Dan

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 597 posts
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 12 February 2016 - 10:14 AM

I have never used throttle decay since it was introduced. I use the number pad "0" quite a bit for quick max throttle and otherwise use W and S for incremental adjustments and obviously X for full stop. All personal preference mind you, but I don't like having to hold W.

Edited by Hobo Dan, 12 February 2016 - 10:16 AM.

#3 Mechteric

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 7,308 posts
  • LocationRTP, NC

Posted 12 February 2016 - 10:16 AM

No, I don't want to have to hold down the W key all the time.

Instead, I bind the numbers 1-4 (above WASD) to 30%, 50%, 80%, and 100% throttle (respectively) so I can quickly jump to any speed I want and fine tune the speed with W/S keys.

Edited by CapperDeluxe, 12 February 2016 - 10:17 AM.

#4 Mead

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Little Helper
  • Little Helper
  • 338 posts

Posted 12 February 2016 - 10:22 AM

I don't use it; I don't like having to hold W down.

And yet half the time I find myself crushing W into a singularity as if that's going to make me go just a little bit faster.

#5 Aresye

• Heavy Lifter
  • Heavy Lifter
  • 3,462 posts

Posted 12 February 2016 - 10:25 AM

I just use W, S, and X. No throttle decay.

#6 Cion

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Spear