Need "win Conditions"/endgame For Faction Warfare

7 replies to this topic

#1 northpow

• PipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 90 posts

Posted 02 May 2016 - 04:39 PM

I am somewhat new to the game, but I haven't heard of an "endgame" for Faction Warfare. I think there needs to be a win condition so that people have something to strive for.

Or to put it another way, there need to be "win conditions".

Here is my proposal, it could be controversial but it would definitely be interesting:
1. If a Clan gains control of Terra and holds it for 1 week, they win and the map is reset.
2. If a Faction loses all of their territory, they are knocked out and their players are free to choose a remaining faction.
3. If any Faction knocks out all other factions, they win and the map is reset.
4. If 1 year passes without #1 or #3 happening, the faction with the greatest territory wins. However, a Clan faction can never win except through #1.

As far as I understand it, this is consistent with the universe lore.

One way or the other, I would like to see a longer-term goal other than just capturing territories for the heck of it.

#2 Requiemking

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Solitary
  • The Solitary
  • 2,479 posts
  • LocationStationed at the Iron Dingo's Base on Dumassas

Posted 02 May 2016 - 06:30 PM

That would be great, if Clan mechs could get a rather large buff.

#3 northpow

• PipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 90 posts

Posted 03 May 2016 - 11:19 AM

View PostRequiemking, on 02 May 2016 - 06:30 PM, said:

That would be great, if Clan mechs could get a rather large buff.

You're right that the scenario is a lot harder for Clans than IS. Another idea is to let Clans choose the specific planets to attack, so they can make a beeline toward Terra.

...but prevent Clans from attacking any planet that can't be reached from their homeland. That would incentivize attacking other planets as well, to keep the route to the front open (like a supply chain).