- - - - -

Transitional Mechs

16 replies to this topic

#1 Walsung

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 176 posts

Posted 23 May 2016 - 04:42 PM

I have been playing for a few months now (besides a brief period in early beta which was unplayable due to latency) and am fairly competent in and enjoy my shd and rfl I also have the whm which i use to re inflate my ego after a bad match.

now I bought the kodiak and found that it is like starting the game again ie. I suck (funnily enough I find pugland easier then group cue, it's far more forgiving of mistakes and open play style)

Anyway my question is can anyone suggest good mechs to transition more gently to the assault class on one end and lights at the other?

my most active friend prefers playing clan so I should probably have a mixed stable.

side question in scout mode if you are mercs do you have to be running all clan/all IS or can you mix it up?

#2 S 0 L E N Y A

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,031 posts
  • LocationWest Side

Posted 23 May 2016 - 05:42 PM

Assualts are just tough period.
I suppose you could try some of the lighter models like the Gargoyle or Zeus, but they play much more like heavies and wont really teach you much about playing typical assault mechs.
I would say the smart thing would be just keep at it with the Kodiak. Maybe even watch some vids on people playing theirs.

For lights, start with one of the best models out there.
JennerIIc or Oxide, or Arctic Cheetah or Firestarter.

#3 SlightlyMobileTurret

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Lance Corporal
  • 718 posts

Posted 23 May 2016 - 05:53 PM

Get Banshees. The 3E is a really, really solid mech to learn the ropes -- it's rather slow, it can take a tremendous beating, it's got great mid range firepower (AC5/LL or AC5/PPC). Mine only goes 55, but I still run it once a while up here, it's great for C-bill grinding.