Basic Deck? Units?

3 replies to this topic

#1 DasKraeken

Rookie

• Survivor
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 June 2016 - 09:02 PM

Hey there. I've been playing quick play for quite a couple months now and have mastered two mechs, the Atlas & the Jenner. I figure it's time to start thinking about building a deck to play Faction and wanted advice on how to round out the deck. Which mechs would b good to fill it out based on the two mechs I have? Do the 2 brawlers work in the current Meta?

Also - I play several times a week in the PST time zone. If there are any Units I could drop with that are heavily, PST, please let me know. Thx!

#2 Bud Crue

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Rage
  • Rage
  • 9,883 posts
  • LocationOn the farm in central Minnesota

Posted 15 June 2016 - 11:03 AM

You say the Altlas and Jenner are mastered, so no need to discuss that as a requisite.

If you are bound and determined to run one of each of those in your CW deck (Atlas and Jenner) then you don't have much choice but to go with a Heavy and a Medium for your other two (yes you could go with a Heavy and a light or two mediums, but I would not recommend it). For my money I would go with Warhammer or a Grasshopper (70 tons) and then a Black Jack (45tons).

While I still favor mixed LPLs and ML for my default deck many seem to agree that the meta has shifted to include SRMs and still in the process of shifting toward ballistics. Both the Hammer and the BJ have variants which are hardpoint diverse enough to allow you to change the mechs as desired; whether you play to the meta or not.

If you are open to a whole new set of mechs: most of the folks I know prefer 3-4 fast heavies with a light to fill in the gap on the fourth drop if needed. Only occasionally does anyone call for an assault wave. BTW: Fast heavies refer to anything capable of moving 75-80ish kph and include mechs like the Black Knight, Warhammer, Ghopper, Tbolt, Jagger, etc.