How Does The Urbanmech Fit In The Tactics Of The Game?

29 replies to this topic

#1 Zerlice

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 25 July 2016 - 01:37 AM

Hey everyone!

I was browsing the store for cheap 'Mechs. (I am a big newbie and after spending a lot on my first bot, a heavy, I am rather low on funds.) And while looking for a possible light 'Mech I can across a few < 2mil Battlemechs. I was comparing them and the Urbanmech seemed the strangest...

The appearance was a bit less sleek and fast looking then the other ones, but the actual top speed interested me most. While the other lights go above 100 Km/h or very close to 100, the Urbanmech could only manage just over 30.

What exactly is the purpose of the Urbanmech? It lacks the speed that the other lights have on their side to keep out of harms way so I would expect to get killed pretty instantly in any match-up.

Edited by Zerlice, 25 July 2016 - 01:37 AM.

#2 Xoco

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Little Helper
  • 281 posts

Posted 25 July 2016 - 04:05 AM

You can change the engine out (which costs a fair bit, so don't get urbie until you have a bit more cash under your belt) for around 100 kph max speed-still slower than most light though.

The urbie is a bit of a joke mech, but I like it a lot. It has nearly infinite equip slot on each arm, allowing it to actualy use ac20 or gauss. It has high weapon hard point, so it can do some good hill sneaking shots. It also have JJ.
Basically if yo have tried Blackjack or those type of mech, urbie is a bit like their little cousin.

#3 Lhunara

• PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location1984

Posted 25 July 2016 - 04:20 AM

I own urbanmechs.

Two things can happen when you pilot one:

1) The enemy ignores you, thinking you are a joke. You punish them for their foolishness.

2) The enemy focuses on you, thinking you are an easy kill, you dance and weave, and hopefully your teammates punish them for their foolishness.

#4 Zerlice

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 25 July 2016 - 05:28 AM