Recommended Medium Or Light Mechs

14 replies to this topic

#1 Yiryi-Sa

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • The People
  • 169 posts

Posted 25 July 2016 - 02:02 PM

I'm a returning pilot with a 10 million C-Bill bank to spare.

I enjoy my Ebon Jag variant as a mid-range medium laser and UAC-20 brawler. My other favorite mech is my Shadowcat; it can do a lot of support damage, hit and run, and ECM coverage or scouting.

With these two mechs in mind, do you have any recommendations for light or medium mechs scout or short-range brawling mechs that would compliment my small hangar?

Note: I would prefer Clan mechs, but I'm not stingy about Inner-Sphere.

Edited by Yiryi-Sa, 25 July 2016 - 02:03 PM.

#2 Palfatreos

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 398 posts

Posted 26 July 2016 - 04:06 PM

6 x sl, ECM
ACH-C

#3 Leone

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,693 posts
  • LocationOutworlds Alliance

Posted 26 July 2016 - 04:39 PM

Stormcrow can run a uac20 and a few medium lasers. Personally I prefer the Nova for brawing, but then I go full bore, close range knife fighting with small lasers, flamers, machine guns, etc...

Now, if we're planning on branching out to Is mechs, well, we've tonnes of options. Wolverines, Shadowhawks, Hunchbacks, Centurions, Griffins, or so I hear, Locusts, Firestarters. Yeah, Inner sphere mechs were meant to brawl.

~Leone.

Edited by Leone, 26 July 2016 - 05:07 PM.

#4 SirSoggyDog

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • 121 posts

Posted 28 July 2016 - 07:41 AM

I'm of the opinion most clan mediums make for poor brawlers compared to their IS counterparts. Lights have the balance reversed, and while I wouldn't call either one a brawler, both the ACH and Jenner IIC have enormous amounts of firepower for their size. My Jenny runs hex SRM6, and can kill even an atlas in two alphas from the rear. (hurrah for "fear turkey!")