- - - - -

Heyo Need Some Suggestions

12 replies to this topic

#1 SnyperWulff

Rookie

• Big Brother
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 July 2016 - 04:44 PM

So I'm new to this. Well sort of. I remember playing the older MW games when I was younger. The Timber Wolf holds a special place in my heart and it's the first mech I'll be getting once I can afford it. I'm a medium range fighter mostly, though at times I do like to take longer range shots. Any suggestions on a mid to long TBR build?

#2 Zoeff

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 264 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 26 July 2016 - 04:56 PM

The Timberwolf is surprisingly good considering it's a mech that has such huge sentimental value.
(In my experience such objects don't often translate well into actual gameplay)

Here's a quick build I made on smurfy, using both a ballistic and some lasers using only the omnipods that the Prime variant gives you when you buy it.
http://mwo.smurfy-ne...ef26d90d7b0b5a0
It's not the best thing out there but it should get you started and give you a good feel for what you like to use. It's got 4x ER Medium lasers and an Ultra AC/5 for some medium range and an ER Large laser for some long range shots. After using it for a while, look over what you like/dislike and modify it to your heart's content. Perhaps swap the ER Large laser for another Ultra AC/5? Something like that. :D

Feel free to experiment with your own builds on that website. If you want to go straight to some of the "meta" builds that the better players out there use you can look at some of those here: http://metamechs.com/

Good luck and have fun on the battlefield!

Edited by Zoeff, 26 July 2016 - 04:59 PM.

#3 Ruhkil

• PipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 98 posts

Posted 26 July 2016 - 05:02 PM

depends on what you classify as mid range. i can think of two good builds for what you want off the top of my head