- - - - -

Firepower Vs Armor

47 replies to this topic

#1 TooDumbToQuit

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Death Wish
  • 1,539 posts

Posted 27 July 2016 - 05:39 PM

Where do players fall on this? It seems like a lot of light Mechs go light on armor while assaults go heavy. (duh)

I noticed that a lot of Mechs listed have much lower armor to gain more DPS. In a military naval theme, lights are like WW2 PT Boats and some mediums and even heavys are like "Pocket Battleships". PT boats were built of plywood and were all engines and weapons. They relied on speed. They remind me of the fast lights with little armor who simply cannot be hit.

As I started playing MWO, I started adding armor. My Jenner II's, Kit Foxes etc are all running at about full armor.

Also, any hints on hitting with SRMs?

AND THIS: I do not do LRMs much, but I happened o look at my stats today and I noticed how poor the hit rate was for them. More young players need to look at this.

#2 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 27 July 2016 - 06:26 PM

View PostLikeUntoGod, on 27 July 2016 - 05:39 PM, said:

Where do players fall on this? It seems like a lot of light Mechs go light on armor while assaults go heavy. (duh)

I noticed that a lot of Mechs listed have much lower armor to gain more DPS. In a military naval theme, lights are like WW2 PT Boats and some mediums and even heavys are like "Pocket Battleships". PT boats were built of plywood and were all engines and weapons. They relied on speed. They remind me of the fast lights with little armor who simply cannot be hit.

As I started playing MWO, I started adding armor. My Jenner II's, Kit Foxes etc are all running at about full armor.

AND THIS: I do not do LRMs much, but I happened o look at my stats today and I noticed how poor the hit rate was for them. More young players need to look at this.

Don't trim armor.