- - - - -

A Question Regarding Situational Awareness.

24 replies to this topic

#1 Saxifrage

Rookie

• Philanthropist
  • 4 posts

Posted 28 July 2016 - 09:13 AM

So I've been playing for maybe three months, and I feel like I'm missing something. I'm having trouble improving my performance. I've a suspicion it's down to me not identifying either the tactics being used by the enemy or my team, or a simple ignorance of the pacing and correct times to push, fall back, etc.

My raw piloting skills have improved, I can navigate well enough, and my aim is better than it was. Some in-game advice lead me to metamechs and that was very helpful. However, the pace still seems odd to me. It's usually very slow until it isn't, and then it very much isn't. My question is, how can I more accurately identify the stages of the match, so that I can act more appropriately at the given time?

I've read/watched several tutorials, but I'm hoping that somebody can give me a more specific answer than they are able to provide.

Thanks in advance.

#2 Rogue Jedi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSuffolk, England

Posted 28 July 2016 - 09:39 AM

unfortunately I have yet to fogure this out myself, if I am playing in an organised group that is a lot easier but playing in a solo queue Pick Up Group it is near impossible to predict the flow of the match, sometimes the enemy will charge you realy early in the match, leaving your team out of position and in serious trouble, other times a few Mechs will keep poking out while the rest of the team moves to flank
keep checking your minimap and keep an eye on the top of the HUD were you will get indications of enemy activity, and if you notice something let the team know.

in general the side which takes the initiative has a huge advantage because they are forcing the enemy to react to them.

the most important things to improve situational awareness are: