27 replies to this topic

#1 Nerokar

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 179 posts

Posted 28 September 2016 - 11:43 PM

Hi all.

I'm new to MWO. I did the tutorial, read some nice guides and played my first ten games in trial mechs. Atm i tend to lights, because of their speed and hit and run gameplay and medium mechs because of their versatility (trial hunchback iic with 2x uacs and 3x med laser is a beast).

The game offers a lot of possibilities for tactical gameplay. Really great so long. The only thing i despair about are teams with lots of LRM boats on wide, flat maps like Polar Highlands.

What can i do?

Radar Derp needs 15000 GXP... i have ~1000. So this is not an option.

In most cases my mechs have no ECM and no, or to little AMS. If i stay near my Team i'm useless because the range of my weapons is to short.

So i'm trying to stay out of sight and poke reds as good as i can... But this i neary impossible because of swarms of LRMs after my first alpha. I get targeted instantly even if i change position. No Idea what i'm doing wrong...

The last thing i'm trying to do is to hunt down those mean red spotter, if they have any. The problem here is the fight. I catch him. I fight him... and get billions of LRMs raining on me. Hell... one time i rammed him and this rain of death killed both of us...

So what can i do better next time? Especially on Polar Highlands...

Thanks for hints and advices!

Edited by Nerokar, 28 September 2016 - 11:45 PM.

#2 Jingseng

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The God of Death
  • The God of Death
  • 962 posts

Posted 29 September 2016 - 12:13 AM

Just want to point out - Stay near your team =p