Greetings Marik. Hoping You Can Help Me Understand Something.

10 replies to this topic

#1 DJGSnax

Rookie

• Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 November 2012 - 09:03 PM

Greetings Marik,

As an introduction I'm fairly new to MWO, have been playing for a few weeks now, usually a few hours per day. I played MW 2 and 3 extensively years ago and have been gaming since constantly so MWO hasn't been too hard to pick up for the basics.

After a lot of trial mech play I've picked up a Jenner-D and modified it heavily as well as upgraded it's skills and am getting pretty good results in random drop games but as a primarily scout/harasser play type I'm getting bored with the obvious lack of teamwork, and even though I try over team messaging I rarely get any real cooperative play (I'm also pretty good with the stock Cat in a support role and will probably end up picking up a heavy next).

So my question is how is the team/group play stuff working in this Open Beta MWO world? And the reason I'm asking here is that after refreshing my Battletech lore and canon I'm pretty sure House Marik is where I'd want to be (it also seems like a pretty rad group of laid back individuals).

I've read the forums, poked around the House Marik web site and I understand that there is no official faction support as of yet, but I can't work out how people are managing to set up team play aside from everyone using Teamspeak channels simultaneously (I've downloaded and installed teamspeak and poked around in the Education channel with no real result). Despite numerous forum threads on the subject I can't seem to get a real grasp on how teams are coordinating in here.

Maybe I'm missing something here but say I wanted to try out a few games with some established teams, how does it get set up so team members are all in the same game and playing together?