Best Weapon To Kill Light Mechs With?

31 replies to this topic

#1 Chris Morris

• PipPipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:47 AM

Just curious what you think. I'm new to mechs and MWO but I would like to build a mech that would do some damage on the Raven 3L swarms, or just specialize in countering lights for the fun of it.

I'd prefer to do it with a Cicada, Hunchback or Catapult (the mechs I have).

Thanks for you input!

Chris

#2 Zerikin

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:49 AM

Streak SRMs are the easiest. Large amounts of SRM6 work well too (e.g. a splatcat).

#3 Moonsavage

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • 470 posts
  • LocationAylesbury, UK

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:51 AM

SRM6
Streaks won't touch an ECM capable light, unless you have ECM or Tag.

The other option is to spend the weight on a faster engine and run away from the pests.

#4 Ryllen Kriel

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Tip of the Spear
  • The Tip of the Spear
  • 754 posts
  • LocationBetween the last bottle and the next.

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:54 AM

SRMs are a nice counter to light mechs up close. Streak SRMs are good, but most lights are packing an ECM so sometimes it's better to go with that. Rapid fire lasers are nice to discourage light mechs as well, or the good old AC 20 on your hunchback if you are good at leading them.

#5 AlexEss

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 2,491 posts
  • Locationthe ol north

Posted 18 March 2013 - 09:55 AM

medium pulse lasers if you got the aim(and heat sinks) for it or SRM4/6 if you have the TAG for it.

But in general i'd say the best weapon is a wingman. As long as you can stay out of each others fire that light will not be a problem.

#6 El Bandito

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Daddy
  • Big Daddy
  • 26,736 posts
  • LocationStill doing ungodly amount of damage, but with more accuracy.

Tons of medium lasers I suppose.

#7 verybad